Ohio Legal Research Blog



The Appalachian Regional Commission web site provides a portal of information about the states lying in the 200,000 square-mile region "that follows the spine of the Appalachian Mountains from southern New York to Northern Mississippi. It includes all of West Virginia and parts of 12 other states: Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia."

Regional data can be easily located using the site's database and will retrieve information on the population, income, unemployment, poverty, education, economic status and geography.